什么是虚拟机实时迁移以及它的工作原理是怎样的?

    

任何应用都无法承受停机,但幸运的是,一些停机完全可以避免。对于一些实例,您事先知道其系统停机情况即将发生(例如,由于维护、迁移或自然灾难),在这些情况下,您可以通过 vMotion 来迁移预计会发生停机的服务器中的工作负载。

 

VMware vSphere vMotion 是零停机实时迁移功能,可将工作负载从一台服务器迁移到另一台服务器。此功能可跨 vSwitch、集群甚至云环境来运行(具体取决于您拥有的 vSphere 版本)。在工作负载迁移期间,应用仍在运行,并且用户仍然有权访问他们需要的系统。保持高效工作的保障!

虚拟机实时迁移

虚拟机实时迁移

执行实时迁移

VMware vSphere 实时迁移使您可以将整台运行中虚拟机从一台物理服务器迁移到另一台,且不会停机。虚拟机会保留它的网络标识和连接,确保实现无缝的迁移流程。通过高速网络传输虚拟机的活动内存和精确执行状态,从而使虚拟机可以从在源 vSphere 主机上运行切换到在目标 vSphere 主机上运行。这一整个流程通过千兆位以太网完成,仅需不到两秒钟的时间。实时迁移使您可以:

  • 自动优化资源池中的虚拟机
  • 在不安排停机或中断业务运营的情况下执行硬件维护。
  • 将虚拟机从出现故障或性能欠佳的服务器中移出。

安排和自动执行迁移

使用 VMware vSphere vMotion 自动化迁移,您可以将迁移安排在预先确定的时间进行,且无需管理员干预。作为 vSphere 的其中一项自动化迁移功能特性,VMware vSphere Distributed Resource Scheduler 使用 vMotion 来跨 vSphere 集群优化虚拟机性能。vMotion 使您可以:

  • 跨 vSphere 支持的任何类型的硬件和存储迁移多台运行任何操作系统的虚拟机,并实现审核记录。
  • 在几秒钟内确定虚拟机的最佳安置方式。

详细技术信息 

使用 Virtual Machine File System (VMFS)

虚拟机的完整状态由一组共享存储文件封装,例如光纤通道、Internet 小型计算机系统接口 (iSCSI) SAN 或网络连接存储 (NAS)。VMware vSphere VMFS 允许 VMware ESX 的多个安装实例同时访问相同的虚拟机文件。

 

跨边界或远距离执行 vMotion 迁移

我们通过推出 vMotion 彻底改变了无中断实时迁移的概念。在 vSphere 6.0 中,我们提供了可横跨分布式交换机和 vCenter Server 的边界的全新 vMotion 功能,继续对迁移实时工作负载的流程进行创新。此外,现在可以执行远距离 vMotion 迁移,往返时间 (RTT) 最长为 100 毫秒。远距离 vMotion 提供的受支持 RTT 实现了令人惊讶的 10 倍改进,因此,物理位置在纽约和伦敦的数据中心现在可以互相向对方迁移实时工作负载。

 

Storage vMotion 集成

VMware vSphere 5.1 和更高版本结合使用标准 vMotion 与 VMware vSphere Storage vMotion 来执行单一迁移。这意味着,您可以在主机之间、集群之间或数据中心之间实时迁移整台虚拟机,相关主机之间没有中断或共享存储。

 

保留网络状态

底层 vSphere 主机可将虚拟机使用的网络虚拟化。这样可以确保,即使在迁移之后,也会保留虚拟机网络标识和网络连接。使用 vMotion 来迁移虚拟机可保留精确执行状态、网络标识和活动网络连接,因此用户不会遇到停机或中断。

 

事务完整性

vMotion 可以通过高速网络传输虚拟机的活动内存和精确执行状态,从而使虚拟机可以从在源 vSphere 主机上运行切换到在目标 vSphere 主机上运行。vMotion 可以跟踪位图中的日常内存事务,确保为用户提供极其快速的传输。一旦将完整的内存和系统状态复制到目标 vSphere 主机中,vMotion 便可以挂起源虚拟机,将位图复制到目标 vSphere 主机,并恢复目标 vSphere 主机上的虚拟机。事务完整性可以得到保证。

vMotion 培训迁移

Video Play Icon
(21:46)

vMotion 培训迁移

Feature Description 

No application can afford downtime, but fortunately some downtime is completely avoidable. For those instances where you know ahead of time that system downtime is eminent such as for maintenance, moves, or natural disasters you can perform a vMotion of the workload from the server where downtime is expected to one that is not.

 

VMware vSphere vMotion is a zero downtime live migration of workloads from one server to another. This capability is possible across vSwitches, Clusters, and even Clouds (depending of the vSphere edition that you have). During the workload migration, the application is still running and users continue to have access to the systems they need. Talk about keeping productivity high!

Virtual Machine Live Migration

Perform Live Migrations

VMware vSphere live migration allows you to move an entire running virtual machine from one physical server to another, with no downtime. The virtual machine retains its network identity and connections, ensuring a seamless migration process. Transfer the virtual machine’s active memory and precise execution state over a high-speed network, allowing the virtual machine to switch from running on the source vSphere host to the destination vSphere host. This entire process takes less than two seconds on a gigabit Ethernet network. Live migration allows you to:

  • Automatically optimize virtual machines within resource pools.
  • Perform hardware maintenance without scheduling downtime or disrupting business operations.
  • Move virtual machines away from failing or underperforming servers.

Automate and Schedule Migrations

Using VMware vSphere vMotion automated migration, you can schedule migrations at predefined times, without administrator intervention. The VMware vSphere Distributed Resource Scheduler, one of vSphere’s automated migration features, uses vMotion to optimize virtual machine performance across vSphere clusters. vMotion allows you to:

  • Migrate multiple virtual machines running any operating system across any type of hardware and storage supported by vSphere, complete with an audit trail.
  • Identify the optimal placement for a virtual machine in seconds.

Technical Details 

Using the Virtual Machine File System (VMFS)

The entire state of a virtual machine is encapsulated by a set of shared storage files, such as Fibre Channel, Internet Small Computer System Interface (iSCSI) SAN or network-attached storage (NAS). VMware vSphere VMFS allows multiple installations of VMware ESX to access the same virtual machine files concurrently.

 

vMotion Across Boundaries and Over Long Distances

We revolutionized the concept of non-disruptive, live migration with the introduction of vMotion. With vSphere 6.0, we continue the innovation of migrating live workloads by offering new vMotion capabilities that span the boundaries of distributed switches and vCenter Servers. Furthermore, it is now possible to perform a long-distance vMotion of distances up to 100ms round-trip time (RTT). The astonishing 10x increase in supported RTT offered with Long-Distance vMotion now makes it possible for data centers physically located in New York and London to migrate live workloads between one another.

 

Storage vMotion Integration

VMware vSphere 5.1 and later versions combine standard vMotion with VMware vSphere Storage vMotion in a single migration. This means you can live-migrate an entire virtual machine between hosts, between clusters or between data centers—without disruption or shared storage between the involved hosts.

 

Preserving Network State

The underlying vSphere host virtualizes the networks used by the virtual machine. This ensures that even after the migration, the virtual machine network identity and network connections are preserved. A virtual machine migration with vMotion preserves the precise execution state, network identity and active network connections, so there is no downtime or disruption experienced by users.

 

Transaction Integrity

vMotion can transfer the active memory and precise execution state of the virtual machine over a high-speed network, allowing it to switch from running on the source vSphere host to the destination vSphere host. vMotion keeps the transfer period imperceptible to users by tracking ongoing memory transactions in a bitmap. Once the entire memory and system state have been copied to the target vSphere host, vMotion suspends the source virtual machine, copies the bitmap to the target vSphere host and resumes the virtual machine on the target vSphere host. Transaction integrity is ensured.

(21:46)

vMotion Training Migration