可以将应用或数据库管理系统作为一种服务来提供,或者将包含预构建应用或数据库的服务器本身作为一种服务来提供并以虚拟机的形式来调配。“应用即服务”是指这两种不同的服务提供方法。

  

什么是“应用即服务 (AaaS)”?

 

应将所有应用及运行这些应用的服务器视为自助模式中的调配候选项。应用自助方法时,通常可以更有效地调配、管理和监控熟知的应用类别,例如 Oracle、SAP 和 Microsoft 以及定制的应用。其他类型的关键应用实施(例如高性能计算 (HPC) 或大数据应用)也可受益于自助模式。

  • 数据库即服务 (DBaaS) 
    DBaaS 是指各种数据库基础架构调配参考体系结构。可以将数据库管理系统或包含数据库管理系统的虚拟机作为服务产品进行调配。这也可称为“数据库基础架构即服务”。本节汇总了各种 DBaaS 方法的参考体系结构和功能压力测试以及 vCloud Air 的 DBaaS 产品的相关资料。

  • 高性能计算 (HPC)
    HPC 项目本身受益于简单的自动化调配和经济实惠的高效存储技术。本节汇总了在虚拟化环境中进行的 HPC 研究和成功案例的相关资料。软件定义的数据中心 (SDDC) 方法可提高 HPC 实施在开放式调配以及累积性能方面的总体有效性。

  • 大数据、Hadoop
    大数据以及 Hadoop 实施均可受益于虚拟化基础架构的简单和高效性。在使用自助模式构建时,可以轻松地调配、监控和管理这些相同的应用。许多大数据应用对 21 世纪公司的日常运营而言正变得越来越重要。对即时可用资源和即时调配的扩展服务器基础架构的现代业务需求意味着虚拟化已成为这些体系结构的极具吸引力的重要组成部分。

Applications or database management systems may be offered as a service, or the server itself which contains a prebuilt application or database may be offered as a service and provisioned as a virtual machine. “Applications-as-a-Service” refers to both of these distinct approaches to service offerings.

  

What Is Applications-as-a-Service (AaaS)?

 

All applications and the servers that they run on should be considered candidates for provisioning through a self-service model. Well-known applications categories, such as Oracle, SAP and Microsoft, as well as custom-designed applications often can be provisioned, managed and monitored more effectively when the self-service approach is applied. Other types of critical application implementations, such as High Performance Computing (HPC) or even Big Data applications, can benefit from the self-service model.

  • Database-as-a-Service (DBaaS) 
    DBaaS refers to a variety of database infrastructure provisioning reference architectures. The database management system or the VM containing the database management system may be provisioned as the service offering. This may also be referred to as “Database infrastructure as a Service”. This section aggregates collateral pertaining to reference architectures and functional stress tests for various approaches to DBaaS as well as the DBaaS offerings from vCloud Air.

  • High Performance Computing (HPC) 
    HPC projects innately benefit from simplistic and automated provisioning and efficient and inexpensive storage. This section aggregates collateral pertaining to HPC studies and success stories when run in virtualized environments. The approach of the Software Defined Datacenter (SDDC) enhances the overall effectiveness of HPC implementations in terms of open-ended provisioning as well as cumulative performance.

  • Big Data and Hadoop 
    Big Data and Hadoop implementations can benefit from the simplicity and efficiency of virtualized infrastructure. When architected with a self-service model, those same applications can be easy to provision, monitor and manage. Many Big Data applications are becoming critical to the everyday functioning of 21st century companies. Modern business demand for immediately available resources and instantly provisioned extended server infrastructure means that virtualization has become a compelling component of these architectures.