Chief Operating Officer, Produkte und Cloud-Services

Rajiv Ramaswami kam im April 2016 zu VMware und teilt sich mit Raghu Raghuram die Verantwortung für alle Produkt- und Serviceangebote von VMware sowie zentralisierte Services, Support und Betriebsfunktionen. In dieser Position konzentriert sich Ramaswami in erster Linie auf das Produktangebot von VMware. Zuvor leitete Ramaswami als Executive Vice President und General Manager die Geschäftsbereiche Netzwerk und Sicherheit bei VMware.

 

Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei VMware war Ramaswami sechs Jahre lang Executive Vice President und General Manager der Infrastructure and Networking Group bei der Broadcom Corporation. In dieser Zeit wurde Broadcom zu einem führenden Hersteller von Schaltkreisen aus handelsüblichem Silizium, die inzwischen häufig in den Netzwerken von Telekommunikationsanbietern, Rechenzentren und Unternehmen eingesetzt werden und diese grundlegend verändert haben.

 

Davor war er acht Jahre bei Cisco als Vice President und General Manager für die Geschäftsbereiche Switching, Storage, Data Center und Optical tätig. Am Anfang seiner Karriere arbeitete er bei Xros (heute Nortel), Tellabs und IBM Research.

 

Ramaswami hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss mit Auszeichnung vom Indian Institute of Technology in Madras sowie einen Master- und Doktortitel von der University of California in Berkeley. Er ist ein IEEE Fellow und besitzt 36 Patente, primär auf dem Gebiet optische Netzwerke.

Dr. Rajiv Ramaswami

Chief Operating Officer, Products and Cloud Services

Rajiv Ramaswami joined VMware in April 2016 and has joint responsibility with Raghu Raghuram for all VMware's product and service offerings and centralized services, support and operational functions. In this role, Ramaswami's primary focus is on VMware's product offerings. Prior to this role, Ramaswami led VMware's Networking and Security business as executive vice president and general manager.

 

Before joining VMware, Ramaswami was executive vice president and general manager for the Infrastructure and Networking group at Broadcom Corporation for six years. During his tenure, Broadcom became a leader in delivering merchant silicon switching solutions, which have now been widely adopted in carrier, data center and enterprise networks, transforming how these networks have been built.

 

He previously served as vice president and general manager for switching, storage, data center and optical business units at Cisco for 8 years, and earlier in his career, worked at Xros (acquired by Nortel), Tellabs, and IBM Research.

 

Ramaswami received his bachelor's degree from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, of which he is a Distinguished Alumnus, and master’s and doctorate degrees from the University of California, Berkeley. He is an IEEE Fellow and holds 36 patents, primarily in optical networking.

Dr. Rajiv Ramaswami