Effective Date: 18 September 2017

My VMware Terms of Use

The My VMware Terms of Use is available in the following languages: English, German, French, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, and Korean.

General

Please read these terms of use (the “Terms of Use”) carefully before using the My VMware website. These terms govern your use of the My VMware website, any content (such as text, data, information, software, graphics or photographs) that VMware, Inc. and its subsidiaries (collectively "VMware") may make available through the website (“Materials”) and any services that VMware may provide through the website (“Services”); the “Services” do not include any separate VMware support services, professional services, or cloud service offerings that are offered pursuant to their own applicable terms. The My VMware website, the Materials and the Services are referred to in these Terms of Use collectively as “My VMware”. By accessing, browsing or using the My VMware website, you agree to comply with (i) these Terms of Use, (ii) the VMware Websites Terms of Use and the VMware Privacy Policy which are incorporated into these Terms of Use by reference, and (iii) all applicable laws and regulations, including export control laws and regulations (collectively, the “Terms”). The Terms, together with any provisions that may apply to specific materials, information, products, software or services you agree to when using particular elements of the My VMware website, constitute the entire agreement between you and VMware with respect to such use, and supersede any prior agreements or negotiations between you and VMware with respect to such use. VMware reserves the right to change the Terms from time to time without notice in its sole and absolute discretion. If you do not agree to the Terms, you are not authorized to use My VMware.

Use of My VMware

You may not use My VMware for any purpose that: (a) is unlawful, illegal or prohibited by the Terms, (b) solicits the performance of any unlawful or illegal activity, or other activity which infringes the rights of VMware or others, (c) includes defamatory, obscene, infringing, or other unlawful or illegal material or information, (d) would allow anyone to harm other users’ systems or to inappropriately access data, software or websites, (e) interferes or attempts to interfere with the proper working of My VMware, any transaction being conducted on My VMware, or with any other person’s use of My VMware, or (f) attempts to gain unauthorized access to any portion or feature of My VMware, any other systems or networks connected to My VMware or to any VMware server, or any of the Services, by hacking, password “mining”, or any other unlawful, illegal or illegitimate means.

You may not upload any content to My VMware that contains software or other material protected by intellectual property laws, rights of privacy or publicity, or any other applicable law, unless you own or have rights to that content.

Any space provided to you on the My VMware website is for your own use, and may not be sold, licensed, exchanged or bartered for any purpose including advertising. You are solely liable for all your activities while using My VMware, including anything you upload to My VMware.

As a SuperUser of a My VMware account (or a user delegated such authority by a SuperUser), you agree to monitor and maintain all account user access granted by you, to ensure that all users on your account are authorized, act according to permissions granted, and comply with all applicable laws, ordinances, statutes and regulations, including but not limited to privacy and security of all personal identifiable information, content and data uploaded to My VMware.

Data Sharing Notice

By signing up for a My VMware account, (i) if you are a corporate customer, you acknowledge that your corporate contact or organizational information, including without limitation your name and email address, will be displayed and visible to others within your My VMware account, and (ii) if you are a consumer, you acknowledge that your name, email address and other contact details will be displayed and visible to others within your My VMware account. You, your My VMware account SuperUser, or your Primary License Administrator have supplied this information to VMware either as part of purchasing a VMware product or service, or in connection with the My VMware website. You acknowledge that VMware will process such information in connection with the My VMware portal. You are responsible for ensuring that the information you upload to the My VMware portal is collected and is transferred to VMware in accordance with applicable laws.

You may conceal your contact details from other authorized users of your folders in the My VMware portal by (i) having your SuperUser(s) remove your contact details and disable your access to the My VMware portal, or (ii) if you are a SuperUser, transferring your rights to another user on your account and having that new SuperUser remove your contact details and disable your access to the My VMware portal. Please note that once you take these steps, you will no longer be able to administer your licenses or obtain support through My VMware.

Risk of Unintended Access to Your Data

My VMware enables you to view, manage, revise and assign license permissions for your VMware software licenses. You must follow the instructions provided within the screen text or help content. You must also periodically review your My VMware settings and permissions (including but not limited to settings for sharing of license information).

You understand and agree that if you allow access to someone you did not intend, or if you fail to update your account to remove expired users, you could cause your confidential information to be disclosed to unintended third parties.

Data contained in My VMware has been extracted from internal VMware sources, including ordering, licensing and support systems. While care has been used to ensure accuracy, it is possible that errors have occurred.

Member Account, Password and Security

You will receive a password and account designation upon completing the My VMware registration process. You are responsible for maintaining the confidentiality of your password and account information, and are fully responsible for all activities that occur under your password or account, including as a result of your failure to keep this information secure and confidential. You must (a) immediately notify VMware of any unauthorized use of your password or account, or any other breach of security, and (b) ensure that you log out from your account at the end of each session. VMware cannot and will not be liable for any loss or damage arising from your failure to comply with these requirements.

Privacy and Security Breaches

VMware’s Privacy Policy applies to your use of My VMware, and it is part of the Terms as noted above. To view VMware’s Privacy Policy, click here.

Violation of These Terms of Use

VMware may, in its sole discretion and without prior notice, terminate your access to My VMware and/or block your future access to My VMware if we determine that you have violated the Terms.

Revised Date: 11 July 2017