Award Characteristics:

Key Dates:

  • Nomination deadline: Thursday, November 3, 2022
  • Award Announcement: Sunday, January 15, 2023

Nomination process:

  • Nominations may be submitted by the department chair (one per department chair).
  • Each submission should include a proposed citation of at most 20 words, contact information for three references, and a one-page summary statement concerning the originality, impact, and future potential of the nominee’s research.
  • Nominations must be submitted via email to


  • Early-career university faculty worldwide (within 5 years of their first tenure-track appointment).
  • Former full-time VMware employees are not eligible; previous interns are eligible.

Evaluation Criteria:
Originality, impact, and future potential of early-career research results in computer science systems research.

Award Committee:

The Award Committee is made up of distinguished faculty in the field of Computer Science systems research, as well as senior VMware research leaders. The Award Committee will be responsible for reviewing nominations and making the final selection of an award recipient.

Committee Chair:

  • Charles Isbell (Georgia Institute of Technnology)

Committee Members:

  • Anastasia Ailamaki (EPFL)
  • Tom Anderson (University of Washington)
  • Sylvia Ratnasamy (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Chris Ramming (VMware)
  • Pratap Subrahmanyam (VMware)
  • Christos Karamanolis (VMware)

Emeritus Committee Members:

  • Jennifer Rexford (Princeton University)
  • Michael Stonebraker (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Edouard Bugnion (EPFL)
  • James Larus (EPFL)
  • Greg Ganger (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Ole Agesen (VMware)

Diversity Statement:

VMware is committed to diversity in all aspects of our organization. We embrace diversity through our employees, our suppliers and partners we work with, our customers, and the communities in which we work and live.

For more information about VMware Research Group, click here VRG.