Umgestaltung der Bundesbehörden-IT durch Virtualisierung

Seit 1998 arbeitet VMware mit US-Bundesbehörden und Organisationen des US-Verteidigungsministeriums zusammen und ist der führende Anbieter von Virtualisierungs- und Cloud-Infrastrukturen für die US-Bundesregierung geworden, der alle US-Ministerien, -Militärservices und -kommandos sowie die Legislative und Judikative beliefert. VMware erfüllt die Anforderungen moderner Behörden, senkt gleichzeitig die Kosten und erhöht die Ressourcenauslastung.

  • FDCCI und Konsolidierung: Erfüllen Sie die Anforderungen der Federal Data Center Consolidation Initiative (FDDCI) durch Virtualisierung.
  • Cloud Computing: Bauen Sie einen effizienten, agilen, elastischen Pool von Ressourcen auf, die bei Bedarf abgerufen werden können.
  • Desktop- und Anwendungsvirtualisierung: Bieten und verwalten Sie Desktops als Service. Gewähren Sie Remote-Zugriff ohne Sicherheitsrisiko.
  • Echtzeiterkennung von Situationen: Durchbrechen Sie die Einschränkungen herkömmlicher Datenbanken für skalierbare Echtzeiterkennung.

Sind Sie für eine 40%ige Konsolidierung bis 2015 bereit?

Das ist die Voraussetzung der FDCCI. Mit VMware werden IT-Infrastrukturen stärker konsolidiert als mit jeder anderen Plattform. Durch Virtualisierung mit VMware konnten unsere Kunden in Bundesbehörden Konsolidierungsraten von physischen zu virtuellen Servern von 2:1 bis 12:1 und noch wesentlich höher erzielen, die zugehörigen Kosten senken und die Infrastrukturen ihrer Rechenzentren cloudfähig machen.

Der erste Schritt zum Cloud Computing

Cloud Computing verändert die Bereitstellung und Nutzung von IT-Services in US-Bundesbehörden. Server-, Storage-, Computer- und Netzwerkressourcen werden auf einer virtualisierten Plattform bereitgestellt. Sie bilden einen effizienten, agilen und elastischen Pool von Ressourcen, die nach Bedarf abgerufen werden können, also eine Cloud. Bei Bedarf ermöglicht es die VMware-Plattform den Behörden, diese Ressourcen so zu erweitern, dass alle Vorteile des Cloud Computing zum Tragen kommen, sei es mit einer Private, Public oder Hybrid Cloud.

Verbesserung der Produktivität von Behördenmitarbeitern

Liefern und verwalten Sie Desktops als cloudbasierten Service mit Horizon (with View), um die Produktivität von Telearbeitern, Außendienst-, Büro-, Remote- oder externen Mitarbeitern auf verschiedenen Geräten zu steigern, darunter behördliche PCs oder Laptops, persönliche Computer, Thin Clients und Tablet-PCs. Telearbeit- und COOP-Planung sind nur zwei Beispiele für den Einsatz von End-User Computing-Lösungen von VMware:

  • Bieten Sie Mitarbeitern unmittelbaren und flexiblen Zugriff auf Anwendungen und Daten – jederzeit und überall.
  • Reduzieren Sie die Kosten und Komplexität des Desktop-Managements.
  • Geben Sie IT-Organisationen die Kontrolle, die sie zur Wahrung von Behördensicherheit und Compliance benötigen.

Unternehmenskritische Anwendungen

Zwar sind die Grundlagen der IT-Sicherheit in virtuellen und physischen Umgebungen gleich, doch bietet die Virtualisierung einige wichtige zusätzliche Vorteile beim Schutz der IT-Infrastruktur, z.B. durch Verkleinerung des Angriffsprofils, einfachere Isolierung kontaminierter Infrastrukturteile sowie verbesserte Stabilität und Verfügbarkeit. VMware hat strategische Investitionen in die Common Criteria/EAL 4+-Zertifizierung vorgenommen, mehrere DISA-STIGs entworfen sowie mehrere FIPS-Validierungen für verschiedene Lösungen erhalten.

IT Solutions for Transforming Government

Transform Federal IT with Virtualization

Since 1998, VMware has worked with U.S. Federal and Department of Defense organizations to become the leading provider of virtualization and cloud infrastructure to the federal government, serving all U.S. cabinet agencies, military services and commands, plus the legislative and judicial branches. VMware meets the needs of a modern government while reducing costs and increasing resource utilization.

  • FDCCI and consolidation – Meet the requirements of the Federal Data Center Consolidation Initiative (FDDCI) with virtualization.
  • Cloud computing – Build an efficient, agile, elastic pool of on-demand resources.
  • Desktop and application virtualization – Deliver and manage desktops as a service. Offer remote access without compromising security.
  • Real-time situational awareness – Break past the limits of traditional databases for scalable, real-time awareness.

Meeting Consolidation Requirements

According to the Federal Data Center Consolidation Initiative (FDCCI), 40% of identified data centers in government agencies should be consolidated by the end of 2015. More federal IT infrastructure is consolidated on VMware than any other platform. VMware virtualization has enabled our federal customers to achieve physical to virtual server consolidation ratios from 2:1 to 12:1 and much higher, reduce associated costs and make their data center infrastructure cloud-ready.

Start the Journey to Cloud Computing

Cloud computing is changing the way federal agencies deliver and consume IT services. Put server, storage, compute, and networking resources on a virtualized platform and create an efficient agile and elastic pool of on-demand resources that make up a cloud. When ready, VMware vCloud Air or VMware vCloud Government Service, based on the same award winning vSphere platform enables agencies to extend those resources to realize the best of all that cloud computing has to offer, whether private, public or both.

Enterprise Class Hybrid Cloud for Government

Enterprise Class Hybrid Cloud for Government

Enterprise Class Hybrid Cloud for Government (2:42 min)

VMware vCloud Government Service provided by Carpathia is a FedRAMP compliant infrastructure-as-a-service hybrid cloud that gives IT a common platform to extend their data center and seamlessly run new and existing applications in the cloud.

Learn More

Science Applications International Corporation - vCloud Government Service

Science Applications International Corporation (3:20 min)

Power Federal Employee Productivity

Deliver and manage desktops as a cloud-based service with Horizon (with View), empowering teleworkers and field-based, office-based, and remote or contractor personnel to be productive from a variety of devices, including government-furnished PCs or laptops, personal computers, thin clients and tablet computers. Telework and COOP planning are just two examples of how VMware end-user computing solutions can be used to:

  • Provide personnel with immediate and flexible access to applications and data anytime, anywhere.
  • Reduce the cost and complexity of desktop management.
  • Give IT organizations the control they need to ensure agency security and compliance.

Secure Mission-Critical Operations

While the same fundamentals of IT security apply in virtual and physical environments, virtualization offers some key additional benefits for securing IT infrastructure, such as reducing the attack profile, easier isolation of contaminated infrastructure, and enhanced stability and availability. VMware has made strategic investments to earn Common Criteria/EAL 4+ Certification, as well as drafted several DISA STIGs and earned FIPS validation for various solutions.

Additionally, in order to provide end-to-end security and privacy for cloud sensitive workloads, VMware builds cloud services in accordance with mandates and security best practices meeting the following standards and certifications.

Learn More about vCloud Air Government Service certifications.

Hybrid Service Certifications

International Security Management System

International
Security Management System



Health Insurance Portability & Accountability Act

Health Insurance Portability
& Accountability Act

AICPA Service Organization Control Reports

AICPA Service Organization
Control Reports

Cloud Security Alliance

Cloud Security Alliance

Government Service Certifications

International Security Management System

International Security
Management System



Federal Information Security Management Act

Federal Information
Security Management Act

Federal Information<br />Processing Standards

Federal Information
Processing Standards

FedRAMP JAB<br />Provisional ATO

FedRAMP JAB
Provisional ATO