Explore Certifications and Badges


Cloud Management and Automation

VMware Cloud Management and Automation certifications are designed to gauge your level of skill installing, configuring, and optimizing VMware Aria (formerly VMware vRealize) for your cloud solution.



Specialists and Skills Certifications


Digital Badges



This certification validates a candidate's understanding of VMware's security solutions and the candidate's ability to provide entry level support for the security features of VMware products, including NSX-T Data Center, Workspace ONE and VMware Carbon Black Cloud.



Specialists and Skills Certifications


Application Modernization

VMware Application Modernization certifications are designed to gauge your level of skill validated by passing specialists exams. Whether it’s developer knowledge of specialized frameworks, or administrator knowledge of emerging technologies like Kubernetes and containers, VMware can help you build an effective team with proven skills.



Specialists and Skills Certifications

Certification Levels


VMware Certified Technical Associate

For Operators

This entry-level technical certification is for anyone new to the industry or advancing their careers who perform operational tasks typically delegated by administrators of virtualized environments.


VMware Certified Professional

For Administrators and Engineers

This level is designed for IT professionals who install, configure, manage, and optimize VMware solutions.


VMware Certified Advanced Professional

For Administrators, Architects and Engineers

The advanced level certifications are for those who design and build VMware Solutions (VCAP Design), manage and optimize (VCAP Deployment) VMware solutions.


VMware Certified Design Expert

For Architects

The highest level of VMware certification, VCDX recognizes IT professionals who design, build, and manage VMware solutions and systems.

Frequently Asked Questions

Courses required for certification must be completed through official VMware Instructor-Led Training (including virtual) or through VMware Digital Learning On Demand (including labs) available through Enterprise Learning Subscription (ELS). Completing these courses through the Digital Learning Entitlement (content only, without labs) does not qualify on new and renewal certification requirements.

For candidates who have earned a VMware certification (VCTA, VCP, VCAP) or VCIX special designation, we now offer the ability to purchase branded apparel and a VMware Press discount. You may access the benefits link within your CertManager > Benefits section. To do so, follow the steps below:


Log in to your myLearn Account.

Click the 'Certification Manager' link on the right-side navigation bar.

From the Certification Manager home screen, select "Benefits" in the upper right menu.

From here, any "Active Benefits" you have earned will be listed.

Click 'Claim Benefit’ link.

Click ‘View’ to be directed to your claimed benefit.

No VMware approved study source will ever guarantee you a pass and using sites like these is a violation of exam terms and conditions.

While the recommended courses focus on many of the areas tested in the VMware certification exams, they do not cover all the test materials. Knowledge that can only be gained from hands-on experience is also needed to pass the exams. Refer to the Exam Preparation Guide for details.

Log in to your myLearn Account.

Click the 'Certification Manager' link.

Select ‘Certifications’ in the top menu

You may view your certifications under “Active Certifications”.

To the right of each 'Active' certification is a PDF and Logo link.

Get Certified with VMware