VMware

VMware vCenter Orchestrator Multi-Node Plug-In 1.0 Release Notes

VMware vCenter Orchestrator Multi-Node Plug-In 1.0 | 8 Dec 2011 | Build 342

VMware vCenter Orchestrator 4.1 | 13 Jul 2010 | Build 581

VMware vCenter Orchestrator 4.2 | 24 Aug 2011 | Build 5277

Check frequently for additions and updates to these release notes.

What's in the Release Notes

The release notes cover the following topics:

Introduction to the VMware vCenter Orchestrator Multi-Node Plug-In

The VMware vCenter Orchestrator Multi-Node Plug-in allows organizations to manage environments with multiple vCenter Orchestrator server instances.

As organizations increase their level of automation, they often find the need to deploy multiple Orchestrator instances. With the VMware vCenter Orchestrator Multi-Node plug-in, administrators have a more efficient way to manage multiple Orchestrator instances from a central point. The plug-in allows administrators to log into a master Orchestrator server to view the inventories and workflows of remote Orchestrator servers, and to trigger workflows remotely.

The Multi-Node plug-in also makes it easier for administrators to manage workflow packages. From a single Orchestrator server, administrators can push packages to one or more remote Orchestrator servers and ensure that all instances are in sync with the same workflow versions.

The VMware vCenter Orchestrator Multi-Node Plug-In 1.0 release runs on VMware vCenter Orchestrator 4.1 and the subsequent update releases, as well as VMware vCenter Orchestrator 4.2. For instructions about installing and configuring the plug-in, see Using the VMware vCenter Orchestrator Multi-Node Plug-In 1.0.x.

Top of Page

Known Issues

The following issues are known limitations in the VMware vCenter Orchestrator Multi-Node Plug-In 1.0 release:

  • When you run a Proxy workflow its status might be incorrectly displayed as successfully completed

    If you run a proxy workflow of an invalid remote workflow, the proxy workflow is incorrectly shown as successfully completed even though the remote workflow is invalid and should not start. This behavior is applicable for both synchronous and asynchronous workflows.

  • When you delete a remote package and want to keep the shared information, shared actions are deleted

    When you delete a remote package and its content, but select the Keep shared option from the workflow presentation, the shared actions are not preserved and are deleted as well.

  • The Multi-Node plug-in does not support answers when user interaction is needed for the remote workflow run

    If you run a proxy workflow that requires a user interaction, the proxy workflow cannot send the required information to the remote workflow.

  • Top of Page