VMware

VMware Workstation 3.2

Features | Documentation | Knowledge Base | Discussion Forums

previous Prev   Contents   Last   Next next

Upgrading VMware Workstation

Upgrading VMware Workstation

The following sections describe how to upgrade VMware Workstation from version 2.0, 3.0 and 3.1 to version 3.2 on your Linux or Windows host system and how to use existing virtual machines under VMware Workstation 3.2:

Preparing for the Upgrade

Preparing for the Upgrade

Before You Install VMware Workstation 3.2

Before You Install VMware Workstation 3.2

There are a few steps you should take - while your previous version of VMware Workstation is still on your computer and before you install VMware Workstation 3.2 - to ensure the best possible upgrade experience.

Resume and Shut Down Suspended Virtual Machines

Resume and Shut Down Suspended Virtual Machines

If you plan to use virtual machines created under VMware Workstation 2.0, 3.0, 3.1 or a prerelease version of VMware Workstation 3.2, be sure they have been shut down completely before you remove the release you used to create them.

If the virtual machine is suspended, resume it in the earlier release, shut down the guest operating system, then power off the virtual machine.

Note: If you attempt to resume a virtual machine that was suspended under a different VMware product or a different version of VMware Workstation, a dialog box gives you the choice of discarding or keeping the file that stores the suspended state. To recover the suspended state, you must click Keep, then resume the virtual machine under the correct VMware product. If you click Discard, you can power on normally, but the suspended state is lost.

Commit or Discard Changes to Disks in Undoable Mode

Commit or Discard Changes to Disks in Undoable Mode

If you plan to use existing virtual machines that have disks in undoable mode, commit or discard any changes to the virtual disks before you remove the release you used to create them.

Resume or power on the virtual machine in the earlier release, shut down the guest operating system, power off the virtual machine and either commit or discard changes to the disk in undoable mode when prompted.

Back Up Virtual Machines

Back Up Virtual Machines

As a precaution, back up all the files in your virtual machine directories - including the .vmdk or .dsk, .cfg or .vmx and nvram files - for any existing virtual machines you plan to migrate to VMware Workstation 3.2.

Virtual machines updated for full compatibility with VMware Workstation 3.2 cannot be used under VMware Workstation 2.0.

When You Remove Version 2.0 and Install Version 3.2

When You Remove Version 2.0 and Install Version 3.2

There is a key precaution you should take when you remove VMware Workstation 2.0 - or a prerelease version of VMware Workstation 3.2 - and install VMware Workstation 3.2.

Note: You should also take the following into consideration if you decide to uninstall version 3.0 or 3.1.

Leave the Existing License in Place

Leave the Existing License in Place

The installation steps for your host may require that you run an uninstaller to remove a previous version of VMware Workstation from your machine.

On a Windows host, the uninstaller offers to remove licenses from your registry. If you think you may want to use the previous version of VMware Workstation again, do not remove the licenses. You can safely keep licenses for multiple VMware products on the computer at the same time.

On a Linux host, the license remains in place. You do not need to take any special action. You may safely leave the license where it is.

previous Prev   Contents   Last   Next next