VMware

VMware Workstation 4.5

Features | Documentation | Knowledge Base | Discussion Forums

previous Prev   Contents   Last   Next next

Preparing for the Upgrade

Preparing for the Upgrade

Before You Install VMware Workstation 4

Before You Install VMware Workstation 4

There are a few steps you should take — while your previous version of VMware Workstation is still on your computer and before you install VMware Workstation 4 — to ensure the best possible upgrade experience.

Resume and Shut Down Suspended Virtual Machines

Resume and Shut Down Suspended Virtual Machines

If you plan to use virtual machines created under VMware Workstation 2, 3 or a prerelease version of VMware Workstation 4, be sure they have been shut down completely before you remove the release you used to create them.

If the virtual machine is suspended, resume it in the earlier release, shut down the guest operating system, then power off the virtual machine.

Note: If you attempt to resume a virtual machine that was suspended under a different VMware product or a different version of VMware Workstation, a dialog box gives you the choice of discarding or keeping the file that stores the suspended state. To recover the suspended state, you must click Keep, then resume the virtual machine under the correct VMware product. If you click Discard, you can power on normally, but the suspended state is lost.

Make Sure All Disks Are in the Same Mode

Make Sure All Disks Are in the Same Mode

If you have an existing virtual machine with one or more virtual disks and all the disks use persistent or undoable mode, upgrading is straightforward.

If you have an existing virtual machine with one or more virtual disks and all the disks use nonpersistent mode, you need to take a few special steps when you upgrade VMware Tools. For details, see www.vmware.com/info?id=44.

If you plan to use an existing virtual machine that has disks in undoable mode, commit or discard any changes to the virtual disks before you remove the release you used to create them.

Resume or power on the virtual machine in the earlier release, shut down the guest operating system, power off the virtual machine and either commit or discard changes to the disk in undoable mode when prompted.

If the disks are in persistent or nonpersistent mode, be sure the virtual machine is completely shut down. If it is suspended, resume it, shut down the guest operating system and power off the virtual machine.

If you have an existing virtual machine that has multiple virtual disks and the disks are in multiple modes, the simplest approach to upgrading is to convert all the disks to persistent mode.

Resume or power on the virtual machine in the earlier release, shut down the guest operating system, power off the virtual machine and either commit or discard changes to any undoable mode disks when prompted. Then open the configuration editor and change all disks to persistent mode. After you upgrade to VMware Workstation 4, you can use the snapshot feature to preserve the state of a virtual machine and return to that state at a later time. For more information on the snapshot feature, see Using the Snapshot.

If you need to preserve special functionality that requires disks in multiple modes, review the information at www.vmware.com/info?id=40 before you upgrade.

Back Up Virtual Machines

Back Up Virtual Machines

As a precaution, back up all the files in your virtual machine directories — including the .vmdk or .dsk, .vmx or .cfg and nvram files — for any existing virtual machines you plan to migrate to VMware Workstation 4. Depending on your upgrade path, you may not be able to run your virtual machines under both VMware Workstation 4 and your previous version of VMware Workstation.

Virtual machines created under Workstation 2 must have their virtual hardware updated before they can run under Workstation 4. Once they are updated, they cannot be run under Workstation 2.

You have a choice with virtual machines that you created under Workstation 3 or updated to use the Workstation 3 virtual hardware.

  • You may update these virtual machines for full compatibility with Workstation 4. In that case, the virtual machines can no longer be used under Workstation 3.
  • You may choose not to update the virtual hardware. In that case, you can run the virtual machines under both Workstation 3 and Workstation 4, but you will not have the benefits of the new virtual hardware provided by Workstation 4. Other Workstation 4 features will not be available. For example, you cannot take a snapshot or revert to the snapshot while the virtual machine is running; you must power off before taking or reverting to the snapshot.
When You Remove Version 2 or 3 and Install Version 4

When You Remove Version 2 or 3 and Install Version 4

There is a key precaution you should take when you remove VMware Workstation 2 or 3 — or a prerelease version of VMware Workstation 4 — and install VMware Workstation 4.

Leave the Existing License in Place

Leave the Existing License in Place

The installation steps for your host may require that you run an uninstaller to remove a previous version of VMware Workstation from your machine.

On a Windows host, the uninstaller may offer to remove licenses from your registry. Do not remove the licenses. You can safely keep licenses for multiple VMware products on the computer at the same time.

On a Linux host, the license remains in place. You do not need to take any special action. You may safely leave the license where it is.

previous Prev   Contents   Last   Next next