VMware

VMware Workstation 5.0

Features | Documentation | Knowledge Base | Discussion Forums

previous Prev   Contents   Last   Next next

Options

The Options tab lets you adjust characteristics of the selected virtual machine.

General

Link to w_vmset_opt_gen.png

Virtual Machine Name — Use this setting to change the virtual machine name. Type a new name in the field and click OK.

This field affects the virtual machine name only as it appears in the console tab and Favorites list. Changing the virtual machine name here does not change the names of the virtual machine files.

Virtual Machine Configuration File (Windows only) — This read-only field displays the path to the file that contains configuration information for the selected virtual machine.

Guest Operating System — Workstation optimizes the virtual machine for the operating system you choose in this field.

Version — Use this field to change the setting for the guest operating system version in the virtual machine's configuration file. This setting does not actually change the guest operating system itself.

When you set the guest operating system type in the New Virtual Machine Wizard, Workstation chooses configuration defaults based on the guest type you choose. Changing the guest type in this field simply changes the guest type setting in the configuration file.

The Version field is useful when you are upgrading the guest operating system installed in the virtual machine, and you want to change the guest operating system version.

Working Directory — The working directory is where Workstation stores suspended state (.vmss), snapshot (.vmsn) and redo log files. By default, this is the same directory the virtual machine files are stored in.

Power

Link to w_vmset_opt_power.png

Power options

  • Power on after opening this virtual machine — Select this option to power on the selected virtual machine automatically when Workstation launches. With this option selected, you do not have an opportunity to change the virtual machine's configuration before it starts, since the virtual machine powers on immediately.
  • Enter full screen mode after powering on — Select this option to enter full screen mode automatically after powering on the selected virtual machine.
  • Close after powering off or suspending — Select this option to close the selected virtual machine automatically after you power it off or suspend it. Closing a virtual machine removes the tab for that machine from the main window in quick switch mode.
  • Power Controls

    Note: Settings in Power Controls apply only to the active virtual machine.

  • Link to p_button_stop.pngYou can configure this button to turn off a virtual machine or team in two ways. Select Power Off if you want this button to work the way a power switch works on a power supply. The virtual machine is abruptly powered off, with no consideration for work in progress. Select Shut Down Guest if you want this button to send a shut down signal to the guest operating system. An operating system that recognizes this signal shuts down gracefully.
  • Note: Not all guest operating systems respond to a shut down signal from this button. If your operating system does not respond to a shut down signal, shut down from within the operating system, as you would with a physical machine.

  • Link to p_button_pause.pngThe suspend button is not configurable.
  • Link to p_button_go.pngThe power on or resume button is not configurable.
  • Link to p_button_reset.pngYou can configure this button to reset a virtual machine or restart a guest operating system. Select Reset if you want this button to work as a reset switch. The virtual machine is abruptly reset, with no consideration for work in progress. Select Restart Guest if you want this button to send a restart signal to the guest operating system. An operating system that recognizes this signal shuts down gracefully and restarts.
  • Note: Not all guest operating systems respond to a restart signal from this button. If your operating system does not respond to a restart signal, restart from within the operating system, as you would with a physical machine.

    Run VMware Tools Scripts — This option allows you to run scripts when you power on a virtual machine. See Command Line Reference for help with scripting.

    Shared Folders

    Link to w_vmset_opt_share.png

    Shared Folders — This option allows a virtual machine to share a folder with the host file system for convenient file transfers. See Using Shared Folders for help configuring this option.

    Snapshots

    Link to w_vmset_opt_snap.png

    General — You can disable snapshots for the virtual machine. The virtual machine must not have any snapshots if you want to disable snapshots.

    To disable snapshots for this virtual machine, select Disable snapshots.

    When powering off — You can specify the way Workstation handles snapshots when you power off the virtual machine. Options when powering off include:

  • Just power off — powers off without making any changes to snapshots.
  • Revert to the snapshot — reverts to the parent snapshot of the virtual machine's current state (that is, the parent snapshot of the You Are Here position in the Snapshot Manager window) so the virtual machine always starts in the state it was in when the parent snapshot was taken.
  • Take a new snapshot — takes a new snapshot of the virtual machine state after it is powered off.
  • Ask me — always asks what you want to do with snapshots when you power off.
  • See Using Snapshots for more information on setting these options.

    Guest Isolation (Windows only)

    Link to w_vmset_opt_guestiso.png

    Drag and Drop — By default, you can drag and drop files between your host computer and a virtual machine. If you wish to disable this feature, select Disable drag and drop to and from the virtual machine.

    One reason to disable the drag and drop feature is to prevent files from accidentally being transferred between the virtual machine and the host.

    Advanced

    Link to w_vmset_opt_advanced.png

    Process priorities (Windows only) — VMware Workstation sets the default priority for virtual machine processing as Normal for both Input grabbed and Input ungrabbed. This means that the processes within virtual machines contend equally for resources with all other processes running on the host.

    To change the default priority for the selected virtual machine, overriding the global priorities, choose the priority you want, then click OK.

    You can also set the global priorities directly from a Workstation window by choosing Edit > Preferences and clicking the Priority tab.

  • Settings
  • Run with debugging information — You can run a virtual machine so it collects additional debugging information that is helpful to VMware technical support in resolving issues.
  • To turn debugging mode on, select Run with debugging information, then click OK to apply your changes

  • Disable acceleration — In rare instances, you may find that when you install or run software inside a virtual machine, Workstation appears to hang. Generally, the problem occurs early in the program's execution. In many cases, you can get past the problem by temporarily disabling acceleration in the virtual machine.
  • To disable acceleration, select Disable acceleration, then click OK.

    This setting slows down virtual machine performance, so it is recommended only for getting past the problem with running the program. After you pass the point where the program was encountering problems, try returning to the virtual machine settings editor and removing the check beside Disable acceleration. You may then be able to run the program with acceleration.

  • Log virtual machine progress periodically — This special configuration option increases logging information for debugging and troubleshooting purposes. When you select this option, you do not have to edit a configuration file or restart the virtual machine to extract more detailed logging for technical support.
  • Enable Template mode (to be used for cloning) — See Linked Clones and Access to the Parent Virtual Machine for help configuring this option.
  • previous Prev   Contents   Last   Next next