VMware Workstation 5.5Features | Documentation | Knowledge Base | Discussion Forums
The Linked Clone Snapshot
When you create a linked clone, Workstation 5 creates a snapshot of the parent virtual machine. This snapshot preserves the exact state of the virtual machine when you create the clone.
Caution: You cannot delete this snapshot without destroying the linked clone. It is safe to delete this snapshot if you have deleted the clone depending on it.
The snapshot manager allows you to rename any snapshot. If you rename a snapshot for a cloned virtual machine, you may want to use the Description field to aid you in future identification. Refer to The Snapshot Manager for more information on renaming snapshots.