什么是服务网络?

 

服务网络是指在集成层中不同级别的 Web 服务器上,将来自云托管应用的软件代码编排在一起的一种方法。云托管应用代码不会在 Web 服务器堆栈配置顶层的隔离运行时中运行,而是可以使用 API 进行构建,这些 API 可以加快调用操作系统、Web 服务器、网络或数据中心级别上可用的其他软件驱动型服务。服务网络通过延展生产环境中的基础架构元素之间的互操作性通信级别,增强了软件应用的潜在功能。

 

服务网络通过运行中应用之间的自动跨渠道通信,将弹性云计算数据中心中数千个跨虚拟机的微服务编排在一起。跨所有级别的数据中心运维的云计算编排、负载均衡、资源发现、SDN 路由、API 通信、数据库同步及脚本优化应用均需要专用的服务到服务通信功能。服务网络可用于一次性针对数百万个多租户机架式服务器的多层网络体系架构进行更好的数据分析和流量度量。

服务网络

服务网络与 SDN 配合使用,可推动实现网络虚拟化和自动化等关键功能。

立即了解 

服务网络的优势

  • 互操作性增强:服务网络延展了集成微服务环境的 SDN 路由功能特性的功能,以支持 Web、移动和 SaaS 应用代码。
  • 微服务发现能力增强:服务网络通过更好的微服务发现改进了网络配置和管理。
  • 详细的网络活动实时监控和分析:服务网络可以访问后端流程和 Web 服务器硬件,以便对网络活动进行更详细的实时监控和分析。
  • 强大的 Web 和移动脚本自动化:开发人员可以通过 YAML 文件或实用程序(如 Vagrant、Jenkins、Puppet、Chef 等)编写服务网络功能脚本,以大规模构建强大的 Web 和移动脚本自动化功能。这种类型的体系架构在企业生产中是支持复杂的 SaaS 应用所必需的。服务网络为同时在云环境中运行的数千个或数百万个容器提供协调性。

 

服务网络的工作原理是什么?

服务网络通过发现和路由应用进行工作,这些应用安装在弹性 Web 服务器网络中的每个虚拟机实例或节点上,以通过 IP 地址注册正在运行的微服务。中心注册表用于配置、管理网络上所有同时运行的微服务。服务网络可以由在 Web 服务器、数据中心或应用的各个层上运行的并行应用引用,以通过数据分析和网络监控延展可互操作的功能。这样可在 IP 路由、SDN 定义、防火墙设置、过滤器、规则和云负载均衡级别增强数据中心自动化功能。

 

API 连接可以引用服务网格,以确定在何处发现正在运行的应用,以及用于数据传输或所需处理活动的微服务功能特性。可借助 Kubernetes 自动扩展的弹性 Web 服务器平台将 Istio 用作微服务发现的中心注册表和配置管理实用程序。AWS EC2 和 Kubernetes 等弹性 Web 服务器平台利用服务网络在同时运行时中管理云应用的多个副本,同时将更改同步到主数据库和存储信息。服务网络允许应用层通过 API 与 Web 服务器、Internet 和数据中心网络资源进行通信,反之亦然,具体取决于微服务或代码库的要求。

 

服务网络体系架构

服务网络基于安装在云计算数据中心的虚拟机或容器上的抽象层。代码安装在与运行数据中心编排的中心管理软件实例进行通信的每个虚拟机或节点上。VMware NSX 和 Istio 等服务网络解决方案依靠 Envoy 在节点级别创建数据平面。Envoy 针对每个虚拟机或节点管理与正在运行的微服务、许可的 IP 地址、HTTPS 加密、活动数据库格式等相关的信息。使用 NSX,还将提供 hypervisor 级别的分布式防火墙集成。在弹性云网络中,每个虚拟机或节点的数据平面信息用于进行负载均衡。API 连接依赖服务网络体系架构来满足应用间的路由要求。第 7 层服务网络遥测包括 DNS、HTTP/S、SMTP、POP3、FTP 等。

 

服务网络实施

服务网络实施包括跨 Web/移动应用的 SDN、IP 地址、微服务和 API 资源进行负载均衡和服务发现。服务网格在弹性 Web 服务器体系架构中跨硬件管理 Web 服务器后端中连接的通信、同步和加密。在云应用中,脚本、数据库和静态 Web 文件通常在不同的硬件上分离,然后在 Web 浏览器的最后一页上组合。使用代码中的第三方 API 时,硬件、脚本、数据库和文件之间的 SDN 路由变得更加复杂。当所有这一切均必须在每次页面加载时跨资源组合时,服务网络将在弹性 Web 服务器框架中跨虚拟机集成、同步和标准化运维管理。创建服务网络是为了满足数据中心中没有其他软件提供的需求。它还包括来自 Web 流量连接的数据分析和用户指标。

 

开源服务网络

Istio 是目前最先进的开源服务网格项目,而 Envoy 则用于与跨节点管理数据平面相关的核心功能。Istio 最初是作为云原生计算基金会 (CNCF) 的一部分而开发的,可在 VMware NSX Service MeshEnterprise PKS 平台中工作。PKS 是 VMware 的 Kubernetes 发行版,可通过容器编排云 Web 服务器。PKS 可作为满足公有云和私有云需求的自托管软件包或作为完全代管的容器即服务 (CaaS) 产品提供。Istio 用于 Kubernetes 中的微服务通信,具有复杂的 IP 地址路由功能以及用于企业数据中心大规模弹性 Web 服务器编排的加密功能。Linkerd、Conduit、Aspen 和 Consul 是作为服务网络框架的组件而正在开发的其他重要开源项目。

 

弹性服务网络

需要弹性服务网络来同步云托管框架(如 AWS EC2 或 Kubernetes)中的数据库和网站文件。服务网络控制 Web 服务器后端中虚拟机之间的路由,以满足软件应用支持中的 API 和 SDN 要求。当服务网络还用于弹性 Web 服务器网络中的发现和负载均衡时,管理员可以实现数据中心资源的自动分配,以匹配生产中用户流量的需求。可以将 Web 服务器配置为在不再需要更高效地使用云硬件资源时自动启动或终止。在虚拟机或节点级别将实时监控和分析功能嵌入到服务网络中的能力,使软件开发人员、程序员和 Web 发布者能够使用微服务为应用创建新功能特性。

 

为什么微服务体系架构需要服务网络

公有云可能包含数百万个跨容器或虚拟机同时运行的微服务,这些微服务通过隔离运行时并行支持不同的应用和数据库。基于虚拟化的多租户环境需要更好的方法来发现和注册微服务,以便每个微服务的独特功能均可以由应用集成或使用 API 共享到其他设备。许多微服务格式均不是专门为弹性 Web 服务器平台设计的,需要一个服务网络来管理容器中的操作。服务网络通过 SDN 提供精确(控制)的路由和加密功能,允许不同的 API 在 Web 服务器、端点和其他设备上运行的代码进程之间进行通信。

VMware 服务网络相关产品、解决方案和资源

NSX Data Center

VMware NSX® Data Center 完全在软件中提供虚拟化网络连接和安全性。

VMware NSX 服务网络

VMware NSX 服务网络使您能够跨服务、数据和用户提供一致的可见性和控制。

VMware Enterprise PKS

VMware Enterprise PKS 使您可以部署、运行和管理 Kubernetes 以进行生产。

What is a Service Mesh?

A Service Mesh is a configurable infrastructure layer that makes communication between microservice applications possible, structured, and observable. A service Mesh also monitors and manages network traffic between microservices, redirecting and granting or limiting access as needed to optimize and protect the system. The benefits of using a Service Mesh include improved observability, security, and granular control over network traffic. It can also make application management easier and make it simpler to add or remove microservices from an application without impacting the rest of the system. 

A service mesh refers to the way that software code from cloud-hosted applications is woven together at different levels of the webserver in integrated layers. Rather than functioning in an isolated runtime at the top layer of a web server stack configuration, cloud-hosted application code can be built with APIs that facilitate calls to other software-driven services. The services are available at the operating system, web server, network, or data center levels. A service mesh increases the potential functionality of software applications by extending the levels of interoperable communication between infrastructure elements in production.  

A service mesh weaves together thousands of microservices across VMs in an elastic cloud data center through automated, cross-channel communication between running applications. Dedicated service-to-service communication functionality is required by cloud orchestration, load balancing, resource discovery SDN routing, API communication, database synchronization, and script optimization applications across all levels of data center operations. A service mesh can be used for better data analytics and traffic metrics for multi-tiered network architecture across millions of multi-tenant rack servers at a time. 

Exploring the Economic Benefits of VMware Tanzu Service Mesh

7 Ways to Improve Developer Experience and Accelerate Software Delivery on Kubernetes 

Benefits of a Service Mesh

The Service Mesh is focused on connecting various services, securing the communications between them, and monitoring their performance in real-time. It also provides a control plane, enabling policies and configurations to be updated at once in real-time for all data planes within the service mesh. Many benefits result from using a Service Mesh, but here are a few of the highlights: 

  • Increased interoperability: A service mesh extends the functionality of SDN routing features for integrated microservice environments in support of web, mobile, and SaaS application code. 
  • Enhanced microservice discovery: A service mesh improves network configuration and management through better microservice discovery. 
 
  • Detailed real-time monitoring and analytics of network activity: A service mesh can increase observability by accessing backend processes and web server hardware for more detailed real-time monitoring and analytics of network activity. 
 
  •  Powerful automation of web and mobile scripts: Developers can script service mesh functionality through YAML files or utilities like Vagrant, Jenkins, Puppet, Chef, etc., to build powerful automation of web and mobile scripts at scale. This type of architecture is required to support complex SaaS applications in production in enterprises. A service mesh provides coordination for thousands or millions of containers running simultaneously in the cloud. Since Kubernetes has become the new standard for containerized applications, Service Mesh works well for Kubernetes deployments. 
 
  • Increased security: The Service Mesh enhances security in many ways and enables a control plane that makes it easy to implement policies on a global scale. Because the service mesh provides centralized control for applications, security teams can deploy policies across all microservices at one time without the need to redeploy entire applications. That ensures all apps within the company are protected by the same security policies. The Service Mesh also enables the authentication of end-user credentials. The authentication process can be moved out of the individual application if desired. Instead, the control over authentication and authorization can be consolidated and managed at the company level. 
 
  • Safe Rollout of Deployments: Service Mesh provides the option of blue/green deployments to enable application updates without service interruptions. For more information on blue/green deployments, see our blog on Kubernetes deployments. 

How does a Service Mesh work?

A service mesh works through discovery and routing applications that are installed on every VM instance or node in an elastic web server network to register running microservices by IP address. A central registry is used for configuring, managing, and administering all of the microservices that run simultaneously on a network. The service mesh can be referenced by parallel applications operating at the various layers of a web server, data center, or application to extend interoperable functionality through data analytics and network monitoring. This leads to increased data center automation at the level of IP routing, SDN definitions, firewall settings, filters, rules, and cloud load balancing.  

API connections can reference the service mesh for definitions of where to discover running applications and microservice features for data transfers or required processing activity. Elastic web server platforms that scale automatically with Kubernetes use Istio as the central registry and configuration management utility for microservice discovery. Elastic web server platforms like AWS EC2 and Kubernetes utilize the service mesh for managing multiple copies of cloud applications in simultaneous runtimes while synchronizing changes to master database and storage information. A service mesh permits the application layer to communicate with the webserver, internet, and data center network resources through APIs, or vice versa, depending on the microservice or code requirements. 

Service Mesh architecture

A service mesh is based on an abstraction layer that is installed across VMs or containers in a cloud data center. Code is installed on every VM or node, which communicates with a central administration software instance that runs the data center orchestration. Service mesh solutions like VMware NSX and Istio rely on Envoy to create the data plane at the node level. Envoy manages information related to the running microservices, licensed IP addresses, HTTPS encryption, active database formats, etc., for every VM or node. With NSX this includes distributed firewall integration at the level of the hypervisor. In elastic cloud networks, the data plane information for each VM or node is used for load balancing. API connections rely on service mesh architecture for inter-application routing requirements. Telemetry at Level 7 of the service mesh includes DNS, HTTP/S, SMTP, POP3, FTP, etc. 

Service Mesh implementation

The service mesh implementation includes load balancing and service discovery across the SDN, IP address, Microservice, and API resources of a web/mobile application. The service mesh manages communication, synchronization, and encryption for connections in the webserver backend across hardware in an elastic web server architecture. In cloud applications, the script, database, and static web files are often separated on different hardware, then assembled on the final page of the web browser. The SDN routing between hardware, scripts, database, and files becomes more complex with third-party APIs in the code. When this must be assembled across resources for every page load, the service mesh integrates, synchronizes, and standardizes the operation across VMs in elastic web server frameworks. The service mesh was created to meet a need that no other software provides in the data center. It also includes data analytics and user metrics from web traffic connections.  

Open source Service Mesh

Istio is currently the most advanced open-source service mesh project, with Envoy being used for the central features related to the management of the data plane across nodes. Istio was originally developed as part of the Cloud Native Computing Foundation (CNCF) and works within the VMware NSX Service Mesh and Enterprise PKS platforms. PKS is VMware’s Kubernetes distribution which orchestrates cloud web servers through containers. PKS is available as a self-hosted package for public and private  cloud requirements or as a fully managed Containers-as-a-Service (CaaS) product. Istio is used for microservice communication in Kubernetes with complex IP address routing capabilities and encryption for elastic web server orchestration in enterprise data centers at scale. Linkerd, Conduit, Aspen, and Consul are other important open source projects being developed as components of service mesh frameworks. 

Elastic Service Mesh

An elastic service mesh is required to synchronize database and website files in a cloud hosting framework like AWS EC2 or Kubernetes. The service mesh controls the routing between VMs in the webserver backend for API and SDN requirements in software application support. When the service mesh is also used for discovery and load balancing in elastic web server networks, administrators can automate the allocation of data center resources to match the requirements of user traffic in production. Web servers can be configured to automatically launch or be terminated when no longer required for more efficient use of cloud hardware resources. The ability to embed real-time monitoring and analytics capabilities into a service mesh at the level of the VM or node provides software developers, programmers, and web publishers with the ability to create new features for applications using microservices. 

Why microservices architecture needs a Service Mesh

A public cloud may contain millions of simultaneously running microservices across containers or virtual machines supporting different applications and databases in parallel through isolated runtimes. Multi-tenant environments based on virtualization require a better method to discover and register microservices so the unique functionality of each can be integrated by applications or shared to other devices using APIs. Many microservice formats are not explicitly designed for elastic web server platforms and need a service mesh to manage the operation in containers. A service mesh provides the fine-grained routing and encryption functionality over SDN that allows different APIs to communicate between running code processes on web servers, endpoints, and other devices. 

 

Related Solutions and Products

VMware Tanzu Service Mesh

Connectivity and security for modern applications.

VMware Tanzu Application Platform

A superior multi-cloud developer experience on Kubernetes